
Ok, so i never thought it would take me so long to post a second blog, but is there anyone really counting? I guess this site is...
So, I started on Aug. 18th, which was four week days before students started. I was a little nervous as I pulled into the parking lot, but there was nothing to be nervous about. The staff was really nice, and I enjoyed the 4 days before students got there, because they were slightly laid back, and I got to meet the teachers, before they started teaching. The classroom prep went relatively slow, until Friday, we (my cooperating teacher and I) did a ton of decorating and bulletin board making (being an RA, may have helped with this).
Finally, Monday the 24th came and students showed up for class!! This day went well, especially since I was thinking I may be bored sitting through 6 of the exact same classes. I was not and I was actually entertained. The students are awesome, and I think I have all of their names down now...On Tuesday, I was allowed to teach...no wait talk about myself. I gave a PowerPoint presentation about my self and Nebraska, since that is where I am from. I think the students enjoyed learning a little bit about Nebraska...
Overall, I have enjoyed my experience in the classroom, the students have all been really good and they are a very diverse group. I think it is pretty cool to see so many different Ethnicities in one classroom, that is some thing that I never experienced in Nebraska.
Now, coaching is a different story....I enjoy coaching, but I can't believe how many players whine on the field. I would have been running even more, if I ever complained about anything to my coaches in High School and Middle School. To be honest, I am tired of the players that continue to complain about everything on the field. Other than that, I hope we can be focused with our first scrimmage coming up, and I will let you know how that goes.
And.....my explorations of Texas continue, but I haven't left Houston. I went to the Galleria on Saturday morning/afternoon, one of the most extravagant malls I have ever seen. Ice Rink in the center and like 30 restaurants in the Food Court...just amazing...maybe too amazing for my liking. Last Friday, I went to the Astros/Diamondbacks game at Minute Maid Park, and then explored downtown Houston. It was a lot of fun, and there are pictures, but I don't have them on my computer yet, so I will post them when I get a chance.
Okay, now I will stop this long post. Next time, I will try to post once a week if I get the time.
Once again.....Enjoy!!
No comments:
Post a Comment